Geared up for fun

The seventh annual Rossland Rubberhead Enduro Race was held at the Red Mountain Resort on Sunday.

Bikers of all ages got ready to ride just before 9 a.m. on Sunday morning. They strapped on their helmets, mounted their mountain bikes, and took off down Larch Ridge trail to reach the first of five stages in the Rossland Rubberhead Enduro Race.

Now in its seventh year, the race is part of both the Kootenay-Rockies and BC Enduro Series.

The race is made up of transition stages that had racers peddling uphill between the timed stages, which were primarily downhill. Though the top racers finished with times just over 20 minutes, it took three to five hours to get through the entire course.

The challenge of the enduro format is not to get so wiped out peddling up between stages, that it affects your time and performance coming down.

“It’s an exciting format. It’s really, really popular,” said Ryan Kuhn, the race’s director. “It’s a very social format of racing. So people ride up with their friends in between stages.”

Having fun with friends extended well beyond the course. There was a barbeque and performance by the Foggy Goggle Boys on the Red Mountain Resort deck, where spectators would watch as the racers came flying in to finish the last stage of the course.

Short Course U19:First: Jeremy Helly. 16:39Second: Blaise Swain, 18:16Third: Jaelinn Farmer, 21:19

Short Course Open Women:First: Kate Nesbitt, 18:46Second: Jaya Guilbert, 19:35Third: Lindsau Harrison, 21:10

Short Course Open Men:First: Josh Swain, 17:13

Junior U15 Men:First: Ruben Guibert, 21:34Second: Keegan Fry, 21:42Third: Felix Abraham, 21:46

Junior U19 Men:First: Evan Wall, 21:11Second: Carter Krasny, 23:10Third: Noah Van Der Watt, 23:32

Master 40+ Men:First: Frith Murray, 21:48Second: Leon May, 21:56Third: Ryan Kuhn, 21:59

Open Men:First: Craig Wilson, 21:20Second: Josh Solman, 21:33Third: Quentin Emerlau, 21:41

Open Women:First: Leonie Picton, 23:57Second: Kylie Morin, 25:11Third: Amy Pryse-Phillips, 25:22

Pro/Elite Men:First: Stu Dickson, 20:21Second (tie): David Harder and Dustin Adams, 20:23Third: James Rennie, 20:29


Just Posted

Police call Appledale death a homicide

But few other details being released

Fire engulfs car on weekend

No one injured in incident

Nelson rejects plastic bag ban, opts for education and awareness

Council will collaborate with Chamber of Commerce

UPDATE: Mayor says plastic-bag ban bylaw will be delayed

Ruling throws bylaw in limbo, but Moore committed to moving forward

Nelson U-Haul shutting down

Kootenay Glass and Mirror will no longer provide the service as of July 12

‘Bad choices make good stories’: Margaret Trudeau brings her show to Just for Laughs

Trudeau says over the decades she has been suicidal, manic, depressed

UPDATE: Youth seen with gun at Nanaimo mall, suspect now in custody

Woodgrove Centre shut down during police incident

B.C. man dies from rabies after contact with Vancouver Island bat

Last known case of human rabies in B.C. was 16 years ago

Crown recommends up to two-year jail term for former Bountiful leader

Crown says sentence range should be 18 months to two years for Bountiful child removal case

B.C.-wide police efforts identify Vancouver Island robbery suspect

Warrant issued for arrest of North Vancouver man for TD Bank robbery

VIDEO: Wolf spotted swimming ashore on northern Vancouver Island

Island wolf population estimated at under 150 in 2008, says VI-Wilds

Diversity a Canadian strength, Trudeau says of Trump tweets at congresswomen

Trudeau avoided using Trump’s name when he was asked about the president’s Twitter comments

B.C. couple bring son home from Nigeria after long adoption delay

Kim and Clark Moran of Abbotsford spent almost a year waiting to finalize adoption of Ayo, 3

Garneau ‘disappointed’ in airlines’ move against new passenger bill of rights

New rules codified compensation for lost luggage, overbooked flights

Most Read